User Roles & Permissions

User roles in UTM.io are designed to help enforce UTM taxonomy across teams and agencies. The user roles help keep teams in sync and enable everyone to stay on the same page. We’ve designed the roles around the typical responsibilities of different people on a marketing team - creating and approving new parameters, instructing or training up others, following an established parameter taxonomy without worrying about using the right value.

Definitions & Use Cases of the Four Available User Roles

Owner

“Owner” user role is typically held by the person who started the account. The difference between an “Owner” and an “Admin” is that an “Owner” can delete users.

Admin

“Admin” user can do everything in the account, short of deleting the account’s owner. They invite and manage team members, but their primary responsibility is to manage and enforce consistent UTM taxonomy by creating templates and saving approved parameters for other team members to use. The “Admin” role is typically held by the marketing team leader.

Member

“Member” users cannot invite or manage other team members. Neither can they create or change UTM templates-. But they can save new parameters and use all the features set up by admins or owners.

The main responsibility of a “Member” is to create links by applying the taxonomy set up by an “Admin”. The “Member” role is typically held by a campaign or channel manager, such as a social media manager who is very familiar with their team’s UTM schema.

Viewer

“Viewer” is a role available on UTM.io enterprise plans only. Permissions of this user are significantly cut back for the purpose of a higher level of control maintained by the “Admin”.

When creating links, a “Viewer” can only use parameters saved in templates, or parameters saved in the parameters dashboard. The difference between a “Member” and a “Viewer” is that a “Viewer” can’t enter their own parameters for any of the five parameter fields. A “Viewer” can only select from existing templates and saved parameters, previously created by an “Admin”. If the viewer wants to change something in an existing template or create new parameters, they need to talk to the “Admin”.

The “Viewer” role is typically used when the “Admin” wants to use the simplified interface to make it as easy as possible for the user to learn the tool and the UTM routine. This can be applied to train up an entry-level marketing manager. The “Viewer” role is also used with more experienced marketing managers, namely so when the “Admin” wants to maintain full control over which UTM parameters exactly are going to be used.

Details of the Four User Roles

Now that you understand the definitions and use cases of four different user roles, feel free to compare the differences in detail.


User Permissions Owner Admin Member Viewer
Account
Edit, add, or view users
Remove user from a workspace
- -
Delete user from the account - - -
Billing - -
Add/configure a link shortener - -
Workspaces
Create, edit, delete - -
View assigned workspaces only assigned workspaces only
Add or view users - -
Templates
Create, edit, delete - -
View & use
Parameters Dashboard
Create, edit, delete - -
View & use
Import from GA
- -
Links Dashboard
Create, view
Edit, delete own links only own links only
Create Link
Enter a URL
Use templates
Use saved parameters
Use shortener
Add notes
Use own parameters -
Create custom parameters -
Owner Admin Member Viewer

What about other User Roles?

We get it. Teams can be complicated and this separation of power doesn’t work for every team, company, or agency. Some UTM fields like campaign need more flexibility. Contact us for custom user roles at [email protected]. We’re happy to build a custom role or recommend ways to enforce your UTM taxonomy better with our pre-built roles.

How to Add Users or Change Their Roles - for Admins

  1. Click Invite Users, top right
  2. Click Invite Members, top left
  3. Enter an email address, select one user role, select one or multiple workspaces

To change the role of an existing user, click on the pencil icon and select a new role:


We’re looking forward to seeing how this functionality helps your work. If you still need help, have feedback, or want to share an idea, please contact us - [email protected]

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us